Higher education institutions in the United States seek accreditation through two types of accreditation agencies: institutional (either historically regional or national) and specialized.


Institutional accreditation validates the quality of an institution as a whole and evaluates multiple aspects of an institution ranging from its academic offerings, governance and administration, mission, finances, and resources.

University of Arizona is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 1080 Marina Village Parkway, Suite 500, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001.

Read More about WSCUC »


Specialized accreditation focuses on programs, schools or colleges within a university that has already been awarded institutional accreditation. Many units at the University have voluntarily applied for and received this type of recognition. Like regional accreditation, each unit must go through a rigorous assessment process about every 6-8 years to assure that their programs continue to meet quality standards of the profession for which that program prepares graduates. To learn more about the accredited programs, visit the University Catalog for a detailed list of programs, units and accrediting agencies. 

View the list of UA Accredited Programs in the Catalog